One of the Seven Churches Pergamon [Pergamos] or Pergamum was briefly the capital of the Roman province of Asia, before the capital was transferred to Ephesus. After a slow decline, the city was favored by several imperial initiatives under Hadrian (117-138 C.E.). It was granted the title of metropolis and as a result of this an ambitious building program […]
Scroll to Top